Brent’s Back (Comic Relief)

19 Mar

Image

I know, I know. It’s not a film, but I decided to write about it anyway. So there.

Ricky Gervais reprised his role as David Brent, the main character from classic English sitcom The Office, for Comic Relief. When I heard that Gervais’ most famous creation was making a return, I was a little worried that it might be a little ill-judged. One of the things Gervais and Stephen Merchant really got right with The Office was ending it after only two series (plus a two-part special). There was also a concern that, with global fame and several other characters under his belt, Gervais may have ‘lost the character’ a little.

How wrong could I be? For ten minutes, David Brent was back and was as good as ever. The Office helped popularise the ‘cringe comedy’ that has since been imitated a million times over, but that has hardly been equalled. It was great to see Brent still stumbling through life, convincing himself that he’s happy, but seriously embarrassing himself along the way.

The set up is that Brent is still selling cleaning products out of the back of his car, but he’s also managing music acts. He has one act, a rapper called Dom Johnson (Doc Brown), who is due to record a song as he looks to break into the music business. Whilst at the recording studio, Brent suggests it would be a good idea to duet with Johnson on a ‘political reggae song’ called ‘Equality Street’. The studio scenes are hilarious are demonstrate David Brent at his cringe-inducing, best. It’s buffoonery made brilliant again.

Watch out for the song ‘The Serpent Who Guards The Gates of Hell’, and Brent’s explanation of what the song is about. Anybody who remembers the extraordinarily funny training-day episode from series one of The Office will enjoy seeing this track fleshed out.

Once you’ve watched the ten-minute sketch, check out the video for ‘Equality Street’. If you enjoyed The Office, you won’t be disappointed by this perfectly judged update on the life of David Brent.

10/10

3 Responses to “Brent’s Back (Comic Relief)”

  1. Tom March 20, 2013 at 01:39 #

    I’ll be honest, I thought the clip was good but not brilliant. It doesn’t add anything memorable for me but I enjoyed it.

    Equality Street however is perfect and the 10 minutes beforehand help to make it the genius that it is.

    • Richard Burns March 20, 2013 at 18:03 #

      Thanks for the comment Tom. I sort of agree in that in itself it might not have been memorable. I think I scored it so highly because I thought it was a perfect compliment to everything that has gone before. The relief factor that it wasn’t rubbish was huge! it wasn’t all hysterical, I just thought it was perfectly played.

  2. Frank King Photos March 20, 2013 at 02:30 #

    Great to see him bring this character back! What fascinates me about Ricky is he once made an important decision as a child and never revisited it. That inspired me to write this essay: http://wp.me/p2wzRb-69

Leave a Reply

